collapse collapse

* Links

* Forum Menu

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

• Dot Guests: 37
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 4
  • Dot Users Online:

* Board Stats

• stats Total Members: 2378
  • stats Total Posts: 86460
  • stats Total Topics: 14835
  • stats Total Categories: 5
  • stats Total Boards: 63
  • stats Most Online: 721

* Search

Author Topic: DNA analyst to firearms examiner?  (Read 15166 times)

zaskar

DNA analyst to firearms examiner?
« on: June 30, 2007, 01:02:28 PM »
I am currently a Crim II DNA analyst, and have also spent time as an intern in the firearms section before I even graduated college. When I graduated college, it was hard to decide on whether to move into DNA or Firearms.  I am looking into relocating to a different state and possibly move into firearms.  I am aware that most agencies prefer an experienced examiner that can be thrown into casework after a competency test etc.  Are any agencies willing to train a DNA analyst to become a firearms examiner or would I be put into the same boat as a new college grad?  Thanks for any feedback.

Offline Richard Hitchcox

• (956) 565-7281
  • AFTE Member
Re: DNA analyst to firearms examiner?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2007, 01:31:39 PM »
You would start all over again with Texas DPS. 

That also applies to current Texas DPS employees who desire to change forensic disciplines.  If one were a Forensic Scientist III DNA Analyst who desired to become a Firearm Examiner and was not already trained as such, one would start out as a Forensic Scientist I (entry level), and one would progress up from there based upon one's experience as a Firearm Examiner.