collapse collapse

* Links

* Forum Menu

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

• Dot Guests: 44
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Board Stats

• stats Total Members: 2377
  • stats Total Posts: 86305
  • stats Total Topics: 14776
  • stats Total Categories: 5
  • stats Total Boards: 63
  • stats Most Online: 721

* Search

Author Topic: Wanting some advice  (Read 15168 times)

Offline Doug

• AFTE Friend
Wanting some advice
« on: May 06, 2010, 10:13:00 AM »
Hello,
  I would like some advice on how to have a chance in becoming a firearms examiner trainee.  I`m currently working to receive a BS in criminal justice, and I have a degree in biotechnology and lab experience. Also, I have over 30hrs in natural science courses and forensic courses.  I guess my basic question is; Do I have a chance with a criminal justice degree?

Offline Tori Kujala

• AFTE Member
Re: Wanting some advice
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2010, 12:13:15 PM »
Doug,

There are plenty of agencies that will train you, either by sending you to the National Firearms Academy or in-house training programs.  When will you be getting your degree?  The Georgia Bureau of Investigation takes applications and will keep it on file for openings.   They used to train in-house when I worked for them.  I think they have openings currently but I am not sure.

Tori
Tori Kujala
Forensic Firearm Consultants, LLC
8505 Prairie Rose Lane
Fort Worth, TX  76123
817-528-5520

Offline Doug

• AFTE Friend
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2010, 08:32:53 PM »
Thank you Tori for the reply,

Is their a certain age limit for an agency to send someone to the academy?  I`m getting very discouraged, and at my age I am reconsidering even continuing in school.  Why have a student loan to pay back until I`m 60 and not even be considered for a job I`m interested in.  To answer your question; I have about 9 months to receive the degree.

Thank you very much for your advice,