collapse collapse

* Links

* Forum Menu

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

• Dot Guests: 58
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 0

There aren't any users online.

* Board Stats

• stats Total Members: 2378
  • stats Total Posts: 86395
  • stats Total Topics: 14830
  • stats Total Categories: 5
  • stats Total Boards: 63
  • stats Most Online: 721

* Search

Author Topic: Graduate degree advice  (Read 13852 times)

Offline Megan Cleek

• AFTE Member
Graduate degree advice
« on: July 14, 2014, 08:39:50 AM »
Happy Monday all!

I have followed a couple of threads (several years old) here, that did not highly favor forensic science graduate degrees, but I thought that I might go ahead with my question anyway!

I have a bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice (2004), I started work in forensics (crime scene investigation, and later firearm and toolmark examination) in 2008, and now I have an opportunity to return to school! Because my bachelor's degree is not in a "hard" science, I thought that it might be best to continue my education, if not only to keep up with the expectations of the legal community.

An online program would be best for me; I understand that online programs may lack in hands-on aspects, but I believe that I am able to get those working in my lab. I am familiar with the University of Florida program, and am just now looking into the Oklahoma State University program, does anyone have other recommendations, better suggestions, warnings, etc.? Any comments/advice would be a great help!

Thanks everyone! :)
Megan Cleek
Maryland State Police
Forensic Sciences Division - FATMU
221 Milford Mill Road
Pikesville, MD 21208
megan.cleek@maryland.gov

Offline Zachary Kotas

• AFTE Member
Re: Graduate degree advice
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2014, 10:00:33 AM »
Hey Megan!